ARMED FORCES & WAR

Previous

REMEMBERRefresh your browser; this website is updated regularly.

Allied Airforce Research https://www.alliedairforceresearch.com/useful-websites

Australia Defence Personnel records https://www.defence.gov.au/adf-members-families/service-records

Common British Army Acronyms and Abbreviations of the First World War: www.longlongtrail.co.uk/soldiers/a-soldiers-life-1914-1918/common-british-army-acronyms-and-abbreviations-of-the-first-world-war/

Commonwealth War Graves Commission https://www.cwgc.org/

First World War Glossary, Abbreviations, and Acronyms: https://nzhistory.govt.nz/war/ww1-abbreviations-acronymns

The Gazette is a great place to find military promotions www.thegazette.co.uk

Great War http://www.greatwar.co.uk

28th Maori Battalion https://www.28maoribattalion.org.nz

National Army Museum site https://www.armymuseum.co.nz/explore/research/family-history/?fbclid=IwAR20TWDleavxmrotHiolkkt15FkSVeVh1CneyHYXqr5-OMqAMviLiwjxjVk

NZ Soldiers of Empire Data Explorer https://empiresoldiers.shinyapps.io/Soldiers_of_Empire_Data_Explorer/

New Zealand at War https://nzhistory.govt.nz/war-and-society

New Zealand at War Timeline https://ww100.govt.nz/new-zealand-at-war-timeline

New Zealand Online Cenotaph https://www.aucklandmuseum.com/war-memorial/online-cenotaph

New Zealand War Graves Project: https://www.nzwargraves.org.nz

New Zealand World War 1 https://nzhistory.govt.nz/war/first-world-war

New Zealand World War 2 and subsequent conflicts www.nzdf.mil.nz/personnel-archives-and-medals/#archives

Quakers and WW1 https://www.quaker.org.uk/about-quakers/our-history/quakers-and-wwi

Red Cross Volunteers https://www.iwm.org.uk/history/12-things-you-didnt-know-about-women-in-the-first-world-war

The Royal Scots https://www.theroyalscots.co.uk/

Royal Air Force Operations Records thegenealogist.co.uk

UNESCO Memory of the World: Aotearoa New Zealand https://unescomow.nz

United Kingdom Armed Forces Memorial Roll of Honour http://veterans.mod.uk/

United Kingdom Military Service Records https://www.gov.uk/get-copy-military-service-records/print

USA WW1 Burial Cards http://wjh.us/aef/index.asp

Women in WW1 https://www.iwm.org.uk/history/12-things-you-didnt-know-about-women-in-the-first-world-war

Women’s War Service Auxiliary https://nzhistory.govt.nz/women-together/new-zealand-womens-royal-army-corps-association

© NZSG Porirua 2017-2022